The joy of the unknown.

Theatre is always captivating to me. The costumes, the make up, the set, the dancing, the lights, the acting, the story. All stories are generally the same. You have a question that needs to be answered, a problem that would seemingly keep the question from being answered, a couple good twists in the story, the breathtaking climax and the beautiful (or not so beautiful) resolution. It’s glorious! I always get so caught up in the story, wondering what will happen even though I know that in an hour it will be resolved and I will leave entertained.

Life, however, does not seem to play out like theatre. I believe that my life is very well casted but I just can’t seem to figure out the plot. For a long time this bothered me. What will I do when I grow up? What do I do now that I’m grown up? How do I know that my life’s resolution will be beautiful? It was a constant agonizing wondering. Even still when I wonder what lies ahead after graduation I often say, “I just want my copy of the script!!” Yet, at the end of the day I know that half the joy of living is the joy of the unknown.

If I knew that every Thursday I would get a bouquet of flowers I probably wouldn’t get the same jaw-dropped expression as I would if it were a surprise. If I knew I would get fired, I probably wouldn’t have the same fire lit under me to find a job that truly want and would only mope about how I’m going to lose mine. Okay, maybe that’s not all true but the point is the same. Part of life’s adventure is life’s unknowns. As frustrating as they are, leave the mystery in your life be. Enjoy the joy of taking every day one day at a time.

One thought on “The joy of the unknown.

Leave a Reply

