Accept you.

“We will discover the nature of our own particular genius when we stop trying to conform to our own or to other peoples’ models, learn to be ourselves, and allow our natural channel to open.” – Shakti Gawain

I am the youngest in my family. All of the other babies of the family just nodded their heads in understanding. All of the other siblings just shook their heads with remorse. All of the only children out there just decided that I had nothing to say to them (but I do). Because I am the youngest I spent a great deal of my life being compared to my sister. I played piano, but not as well. I could sing, but not as well. I was smart, but not as smart as she was. It took me a long time to realize that she was not better than me but different from me.

This happens a lot in today’s society – not only among siblings or children. Go into a new job, look for the best employee, be like them. Start a band, find the most popular band in that genre, be like them.  The scenarios go on and on. It’s always a possibility to be someone else. It’s a desire in us to be the best. It’s always easier to become like one who is already the best than it is to force our way up to the best by being the best us we can be. There’s a vulnerability about being the best us we can be because we could get told that it isn’t enough for the task at hand.

At the same time, there is freedom in being the best us we can be because we can finally be at peace with who we are supposed to be. That peace can cover our shortcomings (which we are no longer scared to admit) and promote our good qualities (which are unique to every individual). By being true to you, you open yourself up to discovering the nature of your own particular genius by not trying to conform to other peoples’ models. Learn to be yourself and allow your natural channel to open – you never know where that channel may go.

One thought on “Accept you.

Leave a Reply

