Have Perspective.

 “I hate cynicism. It’s my least favorite quality and it doesn’t lead anywhere. Nobody in life gets exactly what they thought they were going to get. But if you work really hard and you’re kind, amazing things will happen.” – Conan O’Brien

It is easy to be a cynic. Sometimes life is just a big ol’ bowl of unfair soup. The promotion that you worked so hard for was given to the newer, younger employee. The project that you spent two months on was tossed aside by the professor. The stocks keep going down. The gas prices keep going up. The dreams that used to light you up are starting to grow dim. Circumstances are starting to take the toll on your outlook in life.

When you are focused on the bad in life it always seems to get worse. I know that there are real issues. Issues that are more difficult than office troubles and school worries. The issues that overwhelm you and leave you drowning.

Perspective is an amazing tool. I’ve found that when I shift my focus from me to the world around me I find that I am less concerned with how overwhelming my life is.

I like what Conan O’Brien said. No one gets exactly what they thought they would. Life doesn’t turn out like the ideals you always expected to see. But there is something amazing that comes with the unexpected as well. If you put your all into what you do and still have a positive outlook and kind demeanor  you will go far. Circumstance may determine where you are in life but they don’t have to determine how you respond to it.

Have good perspective. Don’t give into the cynicism. Instead, “work really hard and be kind.” You never know what amazing adventures will find you if you open your heart to them.

 

 

Leave a Reply

