Enjoy the Journey.

 “Remember happiness is a way of travel not a destination.”  – Roy Goodman

When I first came to college I was a different person. I was insecure, uptight, OCD. I was under-worked and over-stressed. I always expected adventure to find me. I always wanted life to find me. I had a quote tacked up to my mirror that read, “Stop planning life and start living it.” I didn’t know I had it in me to live but (with help from a very dear friend) I found it.

Traveling was normal for me while growing up. By the time I graduated high-school I had been to twenty-nine different states. There had always been a particular reason for going to that particular place. Why? Happiness was the destination.

My sophomore year, however, my outlook changed. I took a three-day weekend trip to nowhere with two of my friends. We mapped out a path through six or seven states, found all the stucco statues along the way and we left. We would take turns sleeping and driving (well, they would – they didn’t let me drive) – getting out only to eat, get gas and take pictures with the statues. Once we got to South Dakota we decided to drive up and see Mount Rushmore. The trip was amazing! Why? Happiness was the way of travel.

One of the most important things I’ve learned this far in my short life is that “happiness is a way of travel not a destination.” If you keep waiting to be happy, you won’t be. You could always have more money, more time, more friends or better circumstances.

Despite the fact I’m still insecure, I am not uptight or OCD. I’m now over-worked and probably have just the right amount of stress. My life isn’t the best. There are several things I wish were different. There are things in my life I had to let go of that I still wish I had. I don’t have the power to change any of that. I don’t know if it will ever be changed, but I do know that it won’t determine my happiness.

As long as you’re alive you are on a trail to somewhere. Remember that happiness is found in the journey and you will find that true adventure lies ahead of you.

2 thoughts on “Enjoy the Journey.

Leave a Reply

