Go Everywhere Scary.

Photo by Jon Sims

“Hold on, man! We don’t go anywhere with ‘scary,’ ‘spooky,’ ‘haunted’ or ‘forbidden’ in the title.” – Shaggy from Scooby Doo

The time has come again, my friends, to dig out your costumes, find the perfect basket and beg perfect strangers for candy. It is Halloween.

I love Halloween. Well, I like the fun side of it. I like the costumes and the candy and the fun parties with apple cider and scarily delicious treats. I get scared  easily and avoid the horror side of it as much as possible. If I were to be cast on Scooby Doo I would definitely be Shaggy.

Anything with ‘scary,’ ‘spooky,’ ‘haunted’ or ‘forbidden’ in the title is past my limits on Halloween. In my life, however, I try to be more welcoming. Sometimes the best things out there are marked “scary.” Those scary things are usually worth it for me to try out. As for Halloween, I’ll leave it to the ghouls to play with the frightening things!

Spooky Spider Cookie Recipe:

You will need:

  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3 tablespoons crunchy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • chocolate dipped pretzel sticks
  • candy eyes
You will:
  1. Combine milk, sugar, cocoa, butter and peanut butter.
  2. Stir and bring to boil over medium heat. Let boil for 1 1/2 minutes, do not stir.
  3. Remove from heat. Stir in oats and vanilla. Stir until oats evenly distributed.
  4. Drop by teaspoon onto waxed paper. Cool. Makes 4 to 5 dozen.
  5. Stick the chocolate dipped pretzel sticks into the cookies and add the candy eyes
You will get:

Have a fun, frightening and happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

