Be Patient.

 “No. I think I’ll just go down and have some pudding and wait for it all to turn up…. It always does in the end.”  – J.K. Rowling in  Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (spoken by the character Luna Lovegood)

Well, I was sick on Friday but since the full Harry Potter series  was released to BluRay and DVD that day I think that its only fitting that our (belated) quote honor such an event!

If you haven’t seen (or read) Harry Potter, this quote is said by a delightfully content girl named Luna. People had taken some of her things and Harry offers to help her find them. She decided to go eat pudding instead. It happens to us all. Things in life go wrong and you can’t always do something about it. Eventually things will turn out alright. Things have been taken will be returned. Even if the things taken cannot be returned such as an old relationship or job or perhaps even the loss of a family member, life will still move on. In time, we will adjust to not having what we once did.

We like things to be done fast. I know I do. I don’t want to cook a meal that’s going to take an hour. I want to cook a meal that’s going to be done in five minutes. I don’t want to wait for my heart to mend or my bank account to be filled with my hard-earned paychecks. I want to be happy now. I want to buy the things I need now. If I were Luna, I would have accepted Harry’s offer, found my stuff and made sure that the people who took them knew I was inconvenienced by their prank.

Instead, Luna accepts that things just take time. Whatever is going to happen will happen on its own in own time. Why be worried with what you can’t control? Go eat pudding and wait for it all to turn up…it always does in the end.

Leave a Reply

