Re-Examine.

“Re-examine all you have been told…Dismiss what insults your soul.” – Walt Whitman

Photo by Oliver Gruener

  In our society it is easy to follow the crowd. Our entire lives we hear that we need to climb the ladder and get to the top.  If you say all the right things, do all the right things and never challenge the opinions of the majority then you will succeed.

 But what is success? Is it worth it to be the “best” and not know who you are or what  you believe? In my mind, it is not.
 
 To me some the best people in history were not in the majority. They are the people who challenged the “normal” of their day and remained true to themselves no matter others had to say. Every now and then I sit down and consider who I am. I re-examine everything I do and make sure that I truly believe it. If I’m simply doing what others say, I consider why and change it. Being who you are is extremely risky and extremely important.
 
 I usually only do one quote per post  but while I was thinking on this quote another one came to mind.

“The soul should always stand ajar. Ready to welcome the ecstatic experience.”Emily Dickinson

If you know me at all then you know that the one thing I cannot handle is close-minded people. Even if I don’t agree with you at all, I will listen to you. Why? Because you have just as much right as I do to speak and believe as you wish.

While you re-examine your life, remember to leave  the door open. You never know who will come along and bring something into your life that you’ve been missing. Leaving the door ajar is scary. It is a vulnerable place where people can bring things into your life and take things out of. That’s why I balance this quote with Walt Whitman.

 Let people in. Open your mind. Open your soul. Re-examine all you’ve been told. Make sure you are true to you and  not others.

Leave a Reply

