Go on.

“In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.” – Robert Frost

 I hear people (from all over the United States) say all the time about the weather in their area, “If you  don’t like it, wait a few minutes. It will change.” Where I live that is definitely the case. Today the high is 32 degrees. Monday the high is 65 degrees. If you’re not a fan of the cold, wait. If you’re not a fan of the heat, wait. At some point, you will be happy.

Life is kind of like that. If you’re not happy, wait. It will change. It’s usually not as fast as the weather changes but eventually things will be different.

The hard times are easy to move on from. The moment when you see that bright hopeful sunrise of better days is beautiful. Last year I was waiting for the hard times to quit and I had been waiting for quite a while. I will never forget the first morning I woke up with hope of change. It was small, and it didn’t last long, but it was there. It kept me going. Why? Because I knew, for the first time in a long time, that life really would go on.

I don’t think that time heals all wounds. Wounds run deep. Grief runs deep.  Hearts are not easily mended and loss is not easily forgotten. I do know that life will always be moving. Hard times will come. Hard times will go. Remembering in those times that life goes on helps make life a little more bearable.

This quote also reminds me that happy times will come and happy times will go. It makes me remember to take advantage of the happy seasons in life as well. The good times with good friends are to be appreciated. Even the good times will change. I remember staying at my grandparents house when I was young and my friends asked me to go to dinner that night. I asked my grandpa if he’d mind and he said something I’ll never forget. He said, “Times to have fun and enjoy living with your friends become harder and harder to find as you grow up. Take every opportunity to enjoy life while you can.”

Wherever you are in life, remember it goes on. If you are waiting for hope to break through, keep waiting. If you’re enjoying life at it’s finest, don’t stop. Life goes on. Remember the hope and the warning in that phrase. Live life as it comes to you – good and bad- you never know when life may lead you on to an extraordinary adventure.

 

One thought on “Go on.

Leave a Reply

