Greatness.

“Keep away from people who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you feel that you, too, can become great.” – Mark Twain

 I recently saw an AARP commercial that I loved. The “stars” of the commercial were in their early 50’s to late 60’s and each of them began by saying an amazing phrase – “When I grow up….” Different things followed that statement. One said he wanted to go mountain climbing, another said she wanted take dance lessons, one stated she wanted to fall in love in again. I loved that they still stated their dreams. I love that they still said “When I grow up.” Why? Because I never want stop dreaming or striving for more!

People are born with dreams. Children say, at a very young age, what they want to be when they grow up. How entertaining would it be if everyone got to be what they wanted to be when they were young? We would have ninjas and pirates and princesses running around! I would be a ballerina – and actually be good at it! Kids have no sense of impossibility. They have no fear of being unable to be a ninja because they are, hopefully, taught they can do anything.

What happens to us? When do we realize that you can’t do whatever you want? When do you realize there are impossible things? People have told me often that my dreams are too big. I, myself, wonder at times how I could ever make real life and dreams come together. I love Mark Twain’s quote because it makes me remember that truly great people encourage greatness.

If your dreams are too “far out there,” don’t stop believing in them. Nothing is impossible with hard work, great tenacity, and much kindness. If you have forgotten that dreams are possible, remember. Remember that thrill of something you desire being within your power to create, change, or achieve.

Great dreams are accomplished by people who refuse to believe in impossible. Great dreams are accomplished by great people who never stop dreaming.

 

2 thoughts on “Greatness.

Leave a Reply

