Pressure.

“If you want to change you have to be put under stress. Stress results in changes – we have to adapt.” – Jillian Michaels

 I started Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred work out this week. If you’re looking for a good 20-minute work out, look no further. However, since I’m not getting paid to say that, we won’t talk anymore about it!  She says the quote above while forcing me to do static lunges that make me want to lunge forward and knock the television over. Despite my physical pain at that movement, the quote struck a cord with me – not in terms of working out though.

People always say if you keep doing what you’ve been doing then you’ll keep getting what you’ve been getting. It’s true. Life won’t magically change. I hate that. I wish things would magically change to make me happy or at least to where  I could be automatically happy no matter what. It doesn’t. If you want to change or want something to change, you have to change it. Change is stressful. I hate it. I hate beginning (and ending) relationships because I get used to life a certain way. I hate changing jobs, because I’m comfortable at my other job. I hate the idea of moving half way across the country in May because it’s frightening. I know I can make it here. Can I make it there?

It’s risky to change. It’s worth it to take a risk. There are new adventures to live, new places to go, and new people to meet. Change may put you under stress but stress pushes you to be a better you. Change pushes me to be a better me. Don’t be fearful of change and don’t shy away from stress. If you’re put under pressure, you usually find out you’re stronger than you ever thought you could be.

One thought on “Pressure.

  1. David says:

    Sweetheart, you know I speak from experience. There is NO better change than a cross-country move. New cultures, environments, climate etc makes you really search yourself. After a few moves you learn so much more about yourself. Stress does teach you a lot of things, just so long as you don’t stress too long and too often!

Leave a Reply

