Insecurity.

“How others see you is not important. How you see yourself is everything.”

 I do not know who originally did this picture or who penned the words underneath but I found it on Pinterest. I was immediately drawn to it. What a beautiful concept.  I often consider other’s opinions and decide if they should matter or not. I advise my friends to cut loose those who are only draining the life out of them. I rarely stop and ask myself how I see myself.

What causes your insecurity? Is it others? Is it how you see yourself? How do you see yourself? Do you see someone you are proud of? Do you see someone you are embarrassed by? Do you see someone no else seems to see?

Most times, I see someone else that one seems to see. I see myself as a little crazy, very annoying, and always trying to hard. I try harder in everything to please those I care for, even when those people are asking for more. I enjoy buying gifts and doing things for my friends mainly because I am gift person and I like to make their days but sometimes I do these things because I don’t understand why they would just want to be my friend. When I stop to think about these things I realize that’s not how I am. It’s how I perceive myself. Why do I perceive myself in such a negative light? I’m not sure, but I do know it gives me an idea of what I need to do to fix my insecurity.

Being at peace in life requires being content with yourself. What keeps you from being secure in who you are? Is it you?

My goal for this week is to find little ways to fix the way I see myself – such as no negative self-talk. What is yours?

Do not let others influence how you see you. and do not let a skewed self-view keep you from being you.

One thought on “Insecurity.

  1. Anonymous says:

    Great blog! I find this is a problem that is easily overlooked when I am upset with others. I want to blame them when I should be looking at myself, mainly my insecurities.

Leave a Reply

