Searching.

“It is a strange thing, but when you are dreading something , and would give up anything to slow down time, it has a disobliging habit of speeding up.” – J.K. Rowling

Photo by Brigitte Dale

Photo by Brigitte Dale

This is, no doubt, one of my favorite quotes and one that keeps repeating over in my mind right now. In the past month I have seen life more as a whirlwind than as an adventure. I have reached the final section of my final semester as an undergrad student.

It is like reaching the last chapter of a good book series. You have read so fast and so furious because you want to know – no, you have to know. You have to see what happens to Harry and Hermione and Ron and the rest of the characters. You have to know what happens in the Capitol and what that means to Katniss and Peeta and Haymitch and all of the other districts. Yet, when you reach the last chapter of the last book you realize it is almost over. As pleased as you are to have closure your heart begins to mourn for the loss you will feel when you close the book knowing that the story is done. A part of your heart begins to search frantically for another story to devour, another character to love.

That is how I feel now. As these pages of life come to a close I am beginning to mourn the losses I will have. I am beginning to search frantically for another series. I am wishing that time would slow, ever so slightly, while I am watching it speed up.

Once one chapter has ended, that means another will begin. A new book with a new story, new characters, and a new adventure. There is something so sweet about a new beginning. Something that I believe we all take advantage of too often. A new beginning holds new opportunities and new life. Life offers us chances to always learn, always grow, always find adventure.

I wonder, in these times, if that feeling will ever stop. If, once I find another series, it’s only a matter of time before the mourning begins again and searching continues. Strangely, I hope it does. I hope time will always march on, even when I desire it to slow down.When time keeps moving, we  must keep its pace. We must remember to love those in our lives now, for they may not always be. We must remember to take advantage of our current chapter and accept what it teaches us, for it will soon be gone.

I feel as though time is pushing onward in with an unapologetic hope that we find what we are seeking. I feel as though, as we finish up different series in life, we can’t help but hope we find what we are seeking as well.

Happy searching.

 

3 thoughts on “Searching.

Leave a Reply

