Explore. Dream. Discover.

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you did not do than by the ones that you did. So throw off all bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

 Oregon is my 47th state to visit and the most beautiful one I’ve ever driven through. I’m actually on the border of Washington and Oregon now. Yes, that’s right. I’m almost to Seattle. My friend and I have stopped for a couple days to spend time exploring Portland and the surrounding area. I’m happy letting him think that why we are wasting a few days here is because his birthday is tomorrow and he can choose what we do for a day or two. In reality I’m waiting here for a while because part of me fears going farther. Part of me fears change. I think you understand. People tend to fear change.

I look at the lives of people who have made a signifigant influence on our world and I take comfort in knowing that they also felt that fear rise up inside of them. If you study their lives and read their quotes, and try to understand where they came from, where they went and how they got there, then you will know that they must have felt that same pang of fear as you and I are feeling now.

Change is risky business. No one really likes risk too much. I know I’ve said it on here before, but I’ll say it again anyway. Risk equals growth. Maybe risk for you is cleaning out your closet or letting go of someone or something in your past, or realizing that you need to let someone or something go in your present. Maybe it’s changing jobs or careers. Maybe is it moving across country with no job in search of something you’re not yet sure of, but confident you will find. Even though it is scary, chase that risk, and change for the better.  Margaret Drabble said,  “When nothing is sure, everything is possible.”  

No one knows the future and that’s comforting to me. Anything and everything is possible. It’s okay to wonder if this change will work out or be worth it.  It’s okay to be scared. But I, in full agreement with Mark Twain, say to you, “Explore. Dream. Discover.” Always believe for the best and always be willing to grow and find out more of who you are and how you can help society as a whole.

Adventure is fearful, yes, but always worth finding.

5 thoughts on “Explore. Dream. Discover.

Leave a Reply

