Live.

“The reason people find it so hard to be happy is that they always see the past better than it was, the present worse than it is, and the future less resolved than it will be.” -Marcel Pagnol

                                                                                                                                                                                                                  I love books. I respect many. I fall in love with several. I develop a personal connection with a few. One of the series I developed a personal connection with is Harry Potter. Many people my age understand that connection. J.K. Rowling offers so many quotes that reign in the back of my mind as a reminder for life. After moving out to Seattle my dear friend Brittany sent me a necklace with the quote spoken by Albus Dumbledore, “Happiness can always be found, even in the darkest of times, if one remembers to turn on the light.” I personally often reference, “All was well,” as a reminder that one day it all will be well. I’ve known and recited several times this one in particular, “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.” However, It wasn’t until I read the quote by Marcel Pagnol that it truly made sense.

The idea of Seattle was a safe haven for me for a long time. I dreamed of going to school here. I dreamed of getting my masters here. I dreamed of living a happy life, with no worries or cares here. I dreamed of bliss. I dreamed. We all dream. Maybe they aren’t dreams of places but of things. It is easy to say that once you move you will be happy. Once you fall in love again you will be happy. Once you make more money, have more time off, live in a nicer family, accomplish your goals…the lists could go on.

It is similar to saying that the grass is greener on the other side. Once you leave your side and get to that “greener pasture” you realize that it is the same color as the grass has always been and the perspective simply changed the hue. Dreams are never bad. Hope is never bad. The problem arise when we focus so closely on our dreams that we forget that we are living now.

I asked my best friend why it is hard for me to adjust to Seattle when I have known this would be my destination for years. Her reply was simple, “You dreamed of it a long time ago and it offered hope and fantasy of a better life. Now you live there and have to accept that your fantasy place is also real life.”

Perhaps you understand my predicament. I feel like Marcel Pagnol did at one point and was able to rise above that. I feel as though J.K. Rowling had to realize that as well. Maybe we all do. I focus a great deal on perspective and happiness, but perhaps the most important key to finding adventure is living. So live.  See the past as it truly was, today as it truly is, and tomorrow with knowledge it will one day resolve to be well.

Live in happiness.

2 thoughts on “Live.

Leave a Reply

