Enjoy.

“Life starts all over again when it gets crisp in the fall.” – F. Scott Fitzgerald (The Great Gatsby)

My favorite season is finally here. The West Coast is rewarding me with a fairly chilly season so far. I love the chilly mornings and evenings. I love that there is a season that requires you to wrap up in an oversized sweater but not demand you be swallowed up in coats, scarves, gloves, and boots and force you waddle as though you are a marshmallow man.

For whatever reason fall always reminds me that every season is worth enduring to make it to this one. It is like the earth’s treat to me for making it through another year. In a way, Fitzgerald had it right, life starts all over again.

A friend recently told me that he admired my move to the Emerald City and stated that he always wanted to go somewhere far away to reinvent himself. Until moving out here I would have told him that it poses a great opportunity for that. Now, however, I realized that I do not want to reinvent myself. I want life to keep going and for me to keep going with it. I am not the best of person. I need to change a lot of things. I need to grow in a lot of ways (and shrink in a lot of ways but this is not a fitness blog). I want to do that naturally, with the seasons. I don’t want to create a new me, but grow into the me I should be. I want to endure the winter, spring, summer, and fall of life to find that I am the “new” me and the “old” me at the same time. The fact is, you cannot run from your own feet.

Your mind is still your mind, even if you live somewhere different or dress differently.Who you are does not change with who you project yourself to be. E.E. Cummings said, “It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are.” 

I encourage you to become who you really are. We are all searching and trying to find our place too. Be courageous enough to grow with and even enjoy the seasons.

Happy Autumn.

4 thoughts on “Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

