Swim.

“Promise me you will not spend so much time treading water and trying to keep your head above the waves, that you forget, truly forget….how much you have always loved to swim.” – Tyler Knott Gregson

729230_seattle_center_at_night Hello, blog world. I suppose I have been missing in action for a few months. I have been treading water and trying to keep my head above the waves. I think, actually, that I have been doing this for years. I think that we all have.

When we are younger we have dreams. Some of them of plausible and some of them are ridiculous but we want all of them to become reality. As we grow older we realize we must work to achieve those dreams and stop hoping that we can be ballerina fighter-pilot ninjas and begin finding what we truly want to do. What is that passion that drives us? What is it that we love? What is it we want to do for others and for ourselves? We answer that question. We get degrees, we get jobs, we find spouses to help us on the journey, and we work, work, work. We begin to tread water, always on the way to what we know we were destined to be. We live our weekdays for our weekends and spend our weekends dreading the weekdays. We strive to stay above the water. We try to just keep from drowning.

All of that is noble. It is good to work towards dreams. It is good to be content in the in between stages – dreams don’t just happen after all. However, you can spend so much time working that you forget what you’re working for. You can spend so much time waiting that you forget what is coming. The clear picture in your mind and in your heart starts to blur over time. The passion fades. The question becomes what is easier to accomplish. The waiting begins to defer your desire.

I am trying to sort out my dreams.  I am trying to move with the ocean rather than fight its waves. I am trying to not forget how much I have always loved to swim – I hope I am not alone.

I hope you’re remembering to swim again too, and most importantly, why you ever wanted to.

3 thoughts on “Swim.

Leave a Reply

