“To believe in something and not live it, is dishonest.” – Mahatma Gandhi

1379530_frozen_pine_branchI was looking through past posts of mine tonight. Not WordPress or even Blogspot posts. No, I went all the way back to Xanga. I was re-reading what my fifteen year old self believed about life and love and how it should all be lived out. I remembered very quickly how much I dreamed  – and whined, I was real whiner. Something I read reminded of this quote and I just had to share it.

Little Danielle  Elise wrote:

Mother Teresa once said, “Let no one ever come to you without leaving better and happier.”  What would happen if we let  that be our motto? It may not change the world to put a dollar in the Salvation Army bucket the next time you go to Wal-Mart, but it does help, doesn’t it? It may not change the world to buy presents for someone on the Angel Tree, but doesn’t it mean the world to that child? It may not change the world to smile at the person who rushes past you at the mall, but it could make their day couldn’t it? … Make the rest of the time you have count. Forget about yourself for a second and watch the world around you…you may be surprised at what you find.

I omitted the parts where I complained about people not reading my blog (I was very needy while telling people to forget about themselves. While my post is still very similar to today’s post, what has changed since I was 15 is me. I have realized how easy it is to go about life. I do not take time to look at others because I have my routine. I wake up (too early) and to work. I come home and work out. I clean house. I read. I sleep. Repeat. I allow others to walk in and out of my life without a single idea of how I can make them better and happier.

I believe that we should care for others and allow people slots in our day. I believe that we should positively impact those around us. I believe that we should say “I” a lot more and ask more about “you.” I believe it, but I do not live it.

This season, no matter what holiday you celebrate, I ask again that you watch the world around you and forget about yourself for a while. I will be striving to do the same.

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

