Thankful.


“There are things missing in every single room. But there is even more not missing. So don’t be blinded by the ghosts. Don’t let them glow brighter than your friends. Don’t let them glow brighter than your family. Be present. Fight to be present.”
-Jamie Tworkowski

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 8.16.07 AM  I’ve been listening to “Called Home” by Over the Rhine lately. It’s a beautiful song. It describes life and death, pain and joy, and peace.

Sometimes “home” doesn’t evoke memories of peace. Sometimes when people think of their homes they see sadness, hurt, and fear. Sometimes when people think of their homes they see loneliness more than anything. It’s hard to remember that there is peace when you feel restless. It’s hard to remember that you can be whole when you feel so empty. It’s hard to live in the present when the ghosts of your past and future are haunting you with things you’ve lost and things you’ve yet to find.

Being thankful when you feel more sad than you do happy is not easy. I want to tell you that it’s okay. It’s okay to feel sad on a thankful holiday. I have felt pain that I didn’t think would heal. I have felt a loneliness that has threatened to swallow me whole. I have spent more time with my ghosts of regret and ghosts of a never-found future then I would like to admit. Why is it hard to focus on what’s happening now?

Today, I hope you can fight to be present. I hope you can be around real people, family or friends, that remind you life is worth living in, right now. I hope that you can silence the ghosts and see the world happening all around you. I hope that you can find peace.

Happy Thanksgiving.

Signiture2.0

Leave a Reply

