Happy.

“so plant your own gardens and decorate your soul instead of waiting for someone to bring you flowers.” – Jorge Luis Borges

962094_10152896267185431_1697503370_nA few years ago I started writing “happy lists” when I was feeling sad or stuck. I’ve been writing them more and more lately, not just because I’m sad or in a funk. I’m write them because it’s nice to look at all the little things that make me happy.

It’s easy for me to look around and say, “I’d be happier if…” It’s not as natural look around and say, “I am happy here, even if it’s not where I want to be.” I find these happy lists brighten my day even if they are often small and silly things.

The smell of old books

Bonfires and s’mores

John Denver

The little bubbles that float around sometimes when you use dish soap

Rainbows in the spray of water

Dandelions

When my coffee cup sleeve is lined up perfectly with the seams on the cup

These things always make me smile, and sometimes laugh – they make me remember that adventure happens serendipitously. Happy lists help me when I feel like I won’t be happy again. It helps me  remember that I have decorated my soul with happy moments and that I will decorate it again.

I encourage you to make a happy list. I hope you are able to find happy moments, big and small. I hope you are able to store these moments away and use them on rainy days. I hope you find happiness today.

Signiture2.0

 

 

3 thoughts on “Happy.

Leave a Reply

