Fight.

“May your choices reflect your hopes, not your fears.” – Nelson Mandela

IMG_0567I think that life can sometimes feel more bad than good. We look around our seemingly mundane lives at times and we don’t see progress or change happening. We look around our community and read the newspapers and we are reminded that people are dying, stealing, and hurting other people. We grew up reading stories that tell us that good wins over evil but sometimes it doesn’t feel that way.

It feels hopeless sometimes. It feels hopeless and it is often easy to believe that it is hopeless.

It’s easy to stop fighting for hope when we believe there is none. It’s easy to stop looking at the good things when the bad things seem to outweigh them.

The truth is – there are a lot of bad things in life. There is a lot of injustice. There is a lot of sadness. There are a lot of problems that we don’t understand. I often feel overwhelmed at the amount of need in this world and focus on my limits. I can’t right all of the wrongs in the world – but I can decide to do what I can. I can stand shoulder to shoulder with others who chose to help spread good and end injustice. I can fight for hope that the good will not be beaten by the evil.

Deciding to keep fighting for hope in your seemingly mundane life will be hard. Deciding to keep fighting for hope when we see the community and society around us getting worse will be hard. Deciding to keep fighting for hope will always be worth it.

I hope that you can find the strength to fight for yourself and those around you. I hope you find a community that has the strength to fight for them and for you. I hope when you focus on your limits you are able to remember that you are not the only one fighting.

Signiture2.0

 

 

 

 

P.S. In light of recent events, I wanted to share this blog here, though I originally wrote this for my friends at Kyrie Coffee – an organization that is committed to doing good in the world and reducing world suck.

Leave a Reply

