Simple.

“The real things haven’t changed. it is still best to be honest and truthful;to make the most of what we have; to be happy with simple pleasures; and have courage when things go wrong.” – Laura Ingalls Wilder

Alki Beach 2013I’ve been reading several books about  shame and vulnerability recently (jealous?). One of these books by Dr. Brené Brown mentions that a common fear is missing out on the extraordinary. I constantly fear this. I am not only afraid that  I won’t live extraordinarily but I am sometimes ashamed to live a simple life.

I often forget that adventure is found in small, everyday  ways. I forget that living simply  can be, and often is, more enjoyable than living extravagantly.

Thanks to the encouragement of my health coach I have been writing down my favorite part of each day. I noticed that these were not extraordinary things. They were simple, beautiful moments that I would normally take for granted.

Lunch with a friend

Beautiful hike

Took time to watch the sunset

I encourage you to find simple ways to live adventurous. Go on a hike or take time to enjoy your morning cup of coffee. We allow adventure in our lives we when take time to be present in life. It is easy to rush through the day. It is easy to live off a to-do list, waiting for the extraordinary moments. It takes courage to be present for the simple adventures of our day. It takes thoughtfulness to appreciate our lives in their simplicity.

I hope you are able to take time to appreciate your life. I hope you are able to find the adventure in the everyday. I hope you know that life is not mostly composed extraordinary moments, but beautiful (and sometimes tedious) small moments. I hope you know that simple is okay.

Signiture2.0

2 thoughts on “Simple.

  1. signifyphotography says:

    <3 I am going to try and just sit. It is crazy but that is something I don't think people do very much, myself included. Just sit, think, and process things. Yes, I believe I will try that. :)

Leave a Reply

